clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

La Liga schedule and preview, Week 13: Barcelona's trip to Valencia headlines the week

Second place faces fourth place when Barcelona and Valencia clash on Sunday.

David Ramos/Getty Images

As the calendar prepares to turn to December, the title race in La Liga remains interesting with the Top 4 separated by six points. Real Madrid remains on top, ruling the roost thanks to an impressive winning streak that reached 15 games during the midweek.

The latest team to try and take down Los Blancos is Málaga who've bounced back nicely after a tough 2013/14 campaign. The Anchovies are currently sitting in sixth place, nine points back of Madrid, but just a point ahead of Celta Vigo who face Eibar.

Barcelona have looked good since the international break with three straight wins including an impressive demolition of Sevilla last weekend. They'll travel for another challenge this week against fourth place Valencia in Sunday's late game. Lionel Messi finally broke Telmo Zarra's all-time La Liga goal scoring record with a hat trick last weekend and score again during the midweek in Champions League play. Considering he'd gone nearly a month without a goal, it's safe to say that Messi has found his groove again.

Atlético Madrid have been quietly playing well recently and will look to keep pace with Barca and Madrid in their quest to repeat as league champions. Also, David Moyes will be chasing his first win as Real Sociedad manager against Elche on Friday after his side played to a dull scoreless draw last week.

Friday, November 28

Real Sociedad vs. Elche | 2:45 p.m. ET, 8:45 p.m. CEST

Saturday, November 29

Getafe vs. Athletic Club | 10 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Espanyol vs. Levante | 12 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Málaga vs. Real Madrid | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Celta Vigo vs. Eibar | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, November 30

Atlético Madrid vs. Deportivo la Coruña | 6 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Sevilla vs. Granada | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Córdoba vs. Villarreal | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Valencia vs. Barcelona | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Monday, December 1

Almería vs. Rayo Vallecano | 2:45 p.m. ET, 8:45 p.m. CEST