clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USMNT 30-man roster for 2014 World Cup announced

Jurgen Klinsmann has his 30 men for training camp.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The United States has their 30-man preliminary roster for the World Cup. Jurgen Klinsmann has selected the players who will join the American squad for training camp and battle for their place on the plane to Brazil, and it's littered with the big names in U.S. soccer like Clint Dempsey, Michael Bradley, Landon Donovan, Tim Howard and Jozy Altidore.

The biggest omission from the team is Eddie Johnson. A year ago he seemed like a shoo-in to make the World Cup team, but he was in excellent form for club and country then. Now he's struggling for D.C. United and in an April friendly against Mexico played only 30 minutes while Chris Wondolowski started. Now he doesn't even have the chance to earn a spot on the team in training camp.

Klinsmann has likely known the core of the roster for months. The last few weeks were about sorting out the last spot or two to see if someone like Johnson would find his form again, DeAndre Yedlin would keep developing or, of course, anybody got injured.

Klinsmann had to submit the preliminary roster to FIFA today, and tomorrow the team will convene at Stanford University for World Cup training camp. All 30 players on the preliminary roster will be there and go with the U.S. to friendlies against Azerbaijan and Turkey. After the Americans play Turkey on June 1, Klinsmann will have to submit a final 23-man roster to FIFA by the June 2 deadline. The U.S. will then play a final friendly on American soil against Nigeria before heading to Brazil for the World Cup.

The U.S. will open the World Cup on June 16 against Ghana before playing Portugal and Germany. It is one of the tougher groups in the tournament and leaves them with a tough task to make it to the knockout stages in consecutive World Cups for the first time ever.

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)