clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atletico Madrid win La Liga title

For the first time since 1996, Los Colchoneros are the champions of La Liga.

Alex Livesey

Atlético Madrid are champions of La Liga for the first time since the 1995/96 season. Thanks to Diego Godín's equalizer early in the second half, Atléti were able to hold on for a 1-1 draw against Barcelona on Saturday. The result was good enough to secure the title for Los Colchoneros.

This is the first time since the 2003/04 season that a team other than Barcelona or Real Madrid has lifted the trophy in Spain's top flight.

Atléti finished with 90 points, three points clear of second place Barcelona.

Led by leading scorer Diego Costa and a stingy defense that had allowed just 24 goals, Atléti survived challenges from Barca and Madrid, breaking the monopoly the two Spanish giants had on the league title over the past nine seasons.

Atléti spent much of the season near or at the top of La Liga, refusing to back down and refusing to go away though many expected them to fade at some point. It wasn't so much an act of disrespect towards Diego Simeone's club as it was a form of conditioning to how things have gone in Spain for the past decade.

This is Simeone's third league title as a manager, and his first in Spain.