clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Paris Saint-Germain win second straight Ligue 1 title

Make it two in a row for PSG.

Dennis Grombkowski

Paris Saint-Germain are the champions of France! Again.

The defending Ligue 1 champions clinched another league title on Wednesday when AS Monaco drew Guingamp, 1-1, putting second-place Monaco seven points back of PSG with two matches remaining. Had Monaco won, PSG still would have been able to clinch the league with a win over Rennes later in the day.

It looked like Monaco would win the match when Dimitar Berbatov scored in the 77th minute, but Gungamp answered in the 85th minute to earn the draw.

The PSG team was already at the stadium when Monaco drew Gungamp. They were in the tunnel getting ready to take the field at the Parc des Princes when the match went final, leaving them to hug and high-five as the crowd cheered in the stands to celebrate the title. A more elaborate celebration was planned for after the match.

PSG had won just two Ligue 1 title since being established in 1970, but when the Qatari Investment Authority bought the club in 2011, things changed quickly. They poured hundreds of millions into the club, buying the likes of Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Thiago Silva and more. That turned their fortunes and last season, they won their first league title in 19 years. Now they have won another, their fourth Ligue 1 championship.