clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Germany name provisional 30-man World Cup squad

Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund players dominate Joachim Loew's thinking, as Germany name a provisional squad in preparation for the 2014 World Cup.

Lennart Preiss

UPDATE: Loew has already made a change to his team, removing Andre Hahn from the team and adding Christoph Kramer. He has also said that Marcell Jansen, Leon Goretzka and Max Meyer will not join the team for training camp, essentially cutting his roster to 27.

Germany national team coach Jogi Loew has today announced his provisional 30-man squad for the 2014 World Cup.

As might be expected with Germany's footballing depth, there are a few notable names missing. As third-choice goalkeeper, Ron-Robert Zieler has been preferred to the more experienced Rene Adler and the Barcelona-bound Marc-Andre Ter Stegen. Up front, Bayer Leverkusen's prolific striker Stefan Kiessling has once again been overlooked, as has Fiorentina's experienced Mario Gomez.

Real Madrid's Sami Khedira makes the squad despite having spent the majority of the season out injured, but Borussia Dortmund's Ilkay Gundogan is still unavailable with persistent back trouble. There is also a sprinkling of less familiar names, including Kevin Volland, the richly talented Max Meyer and former Everton trainee Shkodran Mustafi, now in Italy with Sampdoria.

Finally, the presence of Miroslav Klose raises the possibility that the veteran striker will be given the opportunity to chase the all-time World Cup scoring record. He currently has 14 goals, level with his compatriot Gerd Mueller and one behind Brazil's Ronaldo. The squad will be reduced to 23 for the final tournament.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Roman Weidenfeller (Borussia Dortmund), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover 96)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Erik Durm (Borussia Dortmund), Kevin Grosskreutz (Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Howedes (Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Marcell Jansen (Hamburger SV), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal), Shkodran Mustafi (Sampdoria), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund)

Midfielders: Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Schalke 04), Mario Goetze (Bayern Munich), Leon Goretzka (Schalke 04), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid), Christoph Kramer (Borussia Monchengladbach), Toni Kroos (Bayern Munich), Max Meyer (Schalke 04), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich)

Forwards: Miroslav Klose (Lazio), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Andre Scheurrle (Chelsea), Kevin Volland (1899 Hoffenheim)