clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FIFA announces 10 finalists for World Cup Golden Ball award

Germany leads the way with four players nominated for the 2014 Golden Ball, which is awarded to the best player during the tournament.

Robert Cianflone

SB Nation's 2014 World Cup Final Preview

FIFA has announced the X finalist for the 2014 Golden Ball award, which goes to the best player in the World Cup. Finalist Germany has the most nominations with four, while their opponent on Sunday Argentina is close behind with three. Brazil, Colombia and the Netherlands each had one player nominated.

The German players are amongst the final ten are Mats Hummels, Philipp Lahm, Toni Kroos, and Thomas Müller. Argentina players Lionel Messi, Javier Mascherano, and Angel di María all made the list, along with Neymar, Arjen Robben, and James Rodriguez.

Müller needs one more goal to catch current tournament leading scorer James Rodriguez who found the back of the net six times in five games. Two goals from the German striker could make him a favorite for the honor.

FIFA has awarded the Golden Ball in each World Cup since 1982. Past winners include: Diego Forlan (2010), Zinedine Zidane (2006), Oliver Kahn (2002), Ronaldo (1998), Romario (1994), Salvatore Schillaci (1990), Diego Maradona (1986), and Paolo Rossi (1982).