clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

La Liga schedule and preview, Week 21: Real Madrid's schedule is crazy busy

New, comment

Los Blancos face two matches this week, ahead of another Madrid Derby.

Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

Week 21 in La Liga could end up playing a role in defining the ultimate outcome of this season's title race. Real Madrid play two tricky matches, including their game in hand over their rivals in the title race.

Real Madrid's first match on Saturday is a tough test against Real Sociedad. While La Real haven't been wowing anyone, they've been slowly climbing up the table under David Moyes. Plus, this is Moyes' first crack at Madrid, and if it goes as well as his first game against Barcelona, Saturday could be interesting.

Madrid's midweek match against Sevilla is a make-up game from December when Los Blancos were away winning the Club World Cup. Sevilla are fresh off a disappointing performance against Valencia, and should be fired up to prove they're still a contender for a European place.

On top of ALL that, no Cristiano Ronaldo for both games after he was sent off against Córdoba. Nothing like a busy, busy week ahead of a huge match against Atlético Madrid next weekend.

Barcelona looked strong in dispatching Atléti in the Copa del Rey and return to league play against sixth-place Villarreal. Barca won the first meeting of the season 1-0, but it was a close-fought match. Unfortunately for the Yellow Submarine, Luis Enrique's team is playing much stronger football than they were early in the season.

Speaking of Atléti, they'll face Eibar, who've been strong this season despite coming up short in all three matches against the big three the first time around.

Here's the full schedule for Week 21 in La Liga.

Friday, Jan. 30

Rayo Vallecano vs. Deportivo La Coruña | 2:45 p.m. ET, 8:45 p.m. CEST

Saturday, Jan. 31

Real Madrid vs. Real Sociedad | 10 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. CEST

Eibar vs. Atlético Madrid | 12 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CEST

Granada vs. Elche | 2 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CEST

Celta Vigo vs. Córdoba | 4 p.m. ET, 10 p.m. CEST

Sunday, Feb. 1

Levante vs. Athletic Club | 6 a.m. ET, 12 p.m. CEST

Almería vs. Getafe | 11 a.m. ET, 5 p.m. CEST

Sevilla vs. Espanyol | 1 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CEST

Barcelona vs. Villarreal | 3 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CEST

Monday, Feb. 2

Málaga vs. Valencia | 2:45 p.m. ET, 8:45 p.m. CEST

Wednesday, Feb. 4

Real Madrid vs. Sevilla | 2:45 p.m. ET, 8:45 p.m. CEST