clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

This Japan penalty run-up looks like it's in slow motion

How is this not illegal?

Aya Miyama, this is absolutely ridiculous. There's actually a rule that a player can't stop completely during their run-up, and if they do, the referee can make them take again. There are like ... five times the ref should have blown the whistle and made Miyama start over here.

Oh, and the penalty shouldn't have even been awarded. The contact on the foul was outside the box.