clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ola Kamara wins MLS Player of the Week 13

Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

Hat tricks. They're eye-catching and usually draw votes for player awards.

That was certainly the case this week in MLS, as two players scored hat tricks and therefore dueled over the title of SB Nation's Player of the Week.

In the end, Columbus Crew SC striker Ola Kamara took the award, edging out New York Red Bulls' Bradley Wright-Phillips for the honor. This is the second straight week BWP was the runner-up for the award.

We got our first instance of vote shenanigans this week, with Once a Metro looking to stuff the ballot for BWP, but falling short in the quest. Several voters have threatened to vote for referees or NWSL players in previous weeks, but so far, Austin Fido is the person to really try and take matters into his own hands. Unfortunately for him, I think the novelty of a Columbus hat trick (it hadn't happened since 2004) gave Kamara the edge.

Full results for Week 13, with first-place votes getting three points, second-place votes receiving two points and third-place votes earning a point each:

Player Points
Ola Kamara 29
Bradley Wright-Phillips 26
Sacha Kljestan 6
Kevin Molino 3
Ignacio Piatti 3
Brian Carroll 1
Didier Drogba 1
Alhaji Kamara 1
Luis Robles 1
Justin Meram 1

And here are the full ballots for Week 13:

Voter 1st 2nd 3rd
Austin Fido (Once a Metro) Bradley Wright-Phillips Bradley Wright-Phillips Bradley Wright-Phillips
Kartik Krishnaiyer (Bitter and Blue) Sacha Kljestan Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips
Eugene Rupinski (Brotherly Game) Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips Brian Carroll
Drew Epperley (Big D Soccer) Sacha Kljestan Ola Kamara Didier Drogba
Weston Jenson (RSL Soapbox) Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips Alhaji Kamara
Alicia Tolar (Dynamo Theory) Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips Kevin Molino
Dave Clark (Sounder at Heart) Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips Ignacio Piatti
Rob Usry (Dirty South Soccer) Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips Luis Robles
Jason Anderson (Black and Red United) Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips Kevin Molino
Patrick Guldan (Massive Report) Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips Justin Meram
Michael Citro (The Mane Land) Ola Kamara Bradley Wright-Phillips Kevin Molino
Alicia Rodriguez (The Goat Parade) Bradley Wright-Phillips Ignacio Piatti Ola Kamara