clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Frank Lampard takes MLS Player of the Week honors for Week 21

The English star hasn't always lived up to his promise since joining MLS, but last week he finally showed why people were excited to see NYCFC sign him.

Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

Frank Lampard has gone from "worst MLS Designated Player ever" in the eyes of some to MLS Player of the Week for Week 21 of the season, the latter according to SB Nation's panel of voters.

Lampard scored his first hat trick in MLS and New York City FC's first hat trick in club history as NYCFC blasted formerly stout defensive side Colorado Rapids 5-1 on Saturday.

Yes, the rule of hat tricks wins again, with Lampard winning comfortably and only three players really in the running this week, with perennial Player of the Week contender Sebastian Giovinco and Orlando City's Kevin Molino also getting a large proportion of votes.

Full results for Week 21, with first-place votes getting three points, second-place votes receiving two points and third-place votes earning a point each:

Player Points
Frank Lampard 23
Sebastian Giovinco 18
Kevin Molino 14
Tommy McNamara 3
Jelle Van Damme 3
Nick Rimando 2
Nicolas Lodeiro 1
Ike Opara 1
Mauro Diaz 1

And here are the full ballots for Week 21:

Voter 1st 2nd 3rd
Michael Citro (The Mane Land) Kevin Molino Frank Lampard Sebastian Giovinco
Kartik Krishnaiyer (Bitter and Blue) Kevin Molino Sebastian Giovinco Ike Opara
Mitchell Tierney (Waking the Red) Frank Lampard Kevin Molino Sebastian Giovinco
Dave Clark (Sounder at Heart) Jelle Van Damme Sebastian Giovinco Frank Lampard
Rafael Noboa y Rivera (Hudson River Blue) Tommy McNamara Sebastian Giovinco Nicolas Lodeiro
Rob Usry (Dirty South Soccer) Frank Lampard Nick Rimando Sebastian Giovinco
Drew Epperley (Big D Soccer) Frank Lampard Sebastian Giovinco Mauro Diaz
Jason Anderson (Black and Red United) Frank Lampard Sebastian Giovinco Kevin Molino
Jake Catanese (The Bent Musket) Frank Lampard Kevin Molino Sebastian Giovinco
Austin Fido (Once a Metro) Frank Lampard Kevin Molino Sebastian Giovinco
Alicia Rodriguez (The Goat Parade) Sebastian Giovinco Frank Lampard Kevin Molino