clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chile vs. Cameroon: Final score 2-0, VAR steals the show at Confederations Cup

New, comment

The Video Assistant Referee system made two big calls and established itself as the big story in Russia.

Cameroon v Chile: Group B - FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017 Photo by Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

There were two entertaining games in the Confederations Cup on Sunday, but all anyone’s going to be talking about is the Video Assistant Referee system. Two big calls were made via VAR in the match between Chile and Cameroon, taking one goal off the board for La Roja and giving them another.

But at the end of the day, VAR didn’t have much of an effect on the result of the match. Chile recorded a 2-0 win over the Indomitable Lions, a result that reflected what happened on the pitch.

Fabrice Ondoa was the best player for either team in the first half. The Cameroon keeper was credited with three saves, all of them were world class, and that doesn’t count the numerous passes he claimed or shoved away.

Cameroon had just one truly great chance in the game, but failed to capitalize. Vincent Aboubacar beat a defender to play himself in on goal in the 11th minute, but his shot was stopped by Johnny Herrera.

Eduardo Vargas thought he’d scored the opening goal just before halftime, finishing off a through ball by Arturo Vidal. Chile was so convinced their goal would stand that they had a big group celebration, but it was correctly ruled out for offside by the VAR. Vidal was furious, and argued with the referee — the one who hadn’t seen the replay, didn’t make the call, and could do nothing to help him.

Chile had most of the ball, but few clear chances in the second half until Alexis Sánchez came off the bench. The Arsenal man was instantly the best attacker on the pitch and eventually set up a goal in the 81st minute. His chipped assist found the head of Vidal, who headed past Ondoa to give La Roja the lead.

VAR popped up again in stoppage time, and to Chile’s benefit the second time around. Vargas finished after a shot by Sánchez was blocked, but the linesman ruled he was offside on the initial effort. However, VAR disagreed — again, correctly — and the goal was given.