clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wimbledon 2012: Seeds Announced; Novak Djokovic, Maria Sharapova Are No. 1s

The fulls seedings have been announced for Wimbledon 2012. Novak Djokovic and Maria Sharapova will be the top men's and women's seeds, respectively.

Getty Images

The third and arguably most famous Grand Slam event of the season is fast approaching. The Championships at Wimbledon 2012 will be held from June 25 - July 8, with the top tennis players in the world vying for the men's and women's titles.

The official Wimbledon website has released the seeds for the men's and women's singles tournaments. Novak Djokovic will once again enter the tourney as the No. 1 seed on the men's side, while Maria Sharapova will hold the top seed among the women. Sharapova is fresh off having won the French Open to complete her career Grand Slam, while Djokovic lost out in the finals of the Roland Garros to Rafael Nadal for the second straight year.

Djokovic won the Wimbledon championship for the first time in 2011 and will be back to defend his title. Also returning is reigning women's champion Petra Kvitova, who is the No. 4 seed for the women.

U.S. men's players Mardy Fish and John Isner will be seeded at Nos. 10 and 11, respectively. Serena Williams, who was bounced out of the French Open in the first round -- the only first-round Grand Slam elimination of her career -- will be the No. 6 seed in the women's singles competition.

Men's Top Seeds:

1. Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2. Rafael Nadal (ESP)
3. Roger Federer (SUI)
4. Andy Murray (GBR)
5. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
6. Tomas Berdych (CZE)
7. David Ferrer (ESP)
8. Janko Tipsarevic (SRB)
9. Juan Martin del Potro (ARG)
10. Mardy Fish (USA)
11. John Isner (USA)
12. Nicolas Almagro (ESP)
13. Gilles Simon (FRA)
14. Feliciano Lopez (ESP)
15. Juan Monaco (ARG)

Women's Top Seeds:

1. Maria Sharapova (RUS)
2. Victoria Azarenka (BLR)
3. Agnieszka Radawanska (POL)
4. Petra Kvitova (CZE)
5. Samantha Stosur (AUS)
6. Serena Williams (USA)
7. Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
8. Angelique Kerber (GER)
9. Marion Bartoli (FRA)
10. Sara Errani (ITA)
11. Na Li (CHN)
12. Vera Zvonareva (RUS)
13. Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)
14. Ana Ivanovic (SRB)
15. Sabine Lisicki (GER)

You can view the full seedings at the official Wimbledon website.

For lots more on Wimbledon and everything else in the world of tennis, please stay tuned to SB Nation's dedicated tennis hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube